Poem: Hiding the Hyde

02/20/2014 at 8:32 AM Leave a comment

   Hiding the Hyde

by June Nash

.

through this life I slide

by hiding the Hyde

that’s my ugly side

 .

Only beauty see

Your the one for me

Your my remedy

.

I do not reveal

the me that is real

that is how I deal

.

I know the true you

By the things you do

From my point of view

.

this face isn’t mine

on a mask you dine

on my own I’m fine

.

Perfection not seek

Just allow me a peek

Won’t think you a freak

.

when I lower veil

let you cast your spell

your scorn would be hell

.

I will see your mind

A heart that is kind

To your faults be blind

.

but you don’t know me

of what you could see

so go away I plea

.

Together we’ll slide

My Jekyll, your Hyde

You’re my other side

.

This poem was inspired by the book Player One, written by Ernest Cline.  My book club is currently reading this book.  I’m half way through, so I don’t know how it all ends.

 The characters meet online as avatars.  They only know each other as the characters they created.  

But isn’t that true of life?  All we really know about each other is what we are willing to reveal.

Entry filed under: Poetry. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Poem: Still Life Poem: Ifs And Buts

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Copyright notice

Original poetry. Copyright 2012, June Nash

