Poem: Good Daughter

10/24/2013 at 6:11 AM 3 comments

Good Daughter

by June Nash

 .

Raised my children, now they’re grown

Husband’s passed, now on my own

Nights are quiet, days are too

Nothing left, of use, to do

 .

Mama, she is slowing down

How long will she be aroun’?

Afraid she’ll die, all alone

She’s a bit accident prone

.

Daughter says come live with her

Didn’t want to, now not sure

I’d like to watch grandkids grow

Hate to be a burden though

 .

Mom nursed me when I was young

Twisted life, look how it swung

She can rest under my arm

I’ll persuade her with my charm

 .

As time passed, decisions made

With good daughter mama stayed

Times, they were not always good

None knew why, nor understood

 .

My daughter’s sweet and caring

Won’t burden her by airing

Petty gripes about my state

Should not have come, now too late

 .

Gave mom our room on first floor

Husband liked things as before

Children gripe, ‘cause can’t make noise

To appease, buy both more toys

 .

Sweet dear, spoils the kids

Catering to husbands bids

I can help, perhaps I should

By dropping hints. That’d be good!

 .

Mother dear, tries to be nice

Interferes, but should think thrice

It’s my home, but whose in charge

Those little hints, getting large

 .

As time passed, a peace was made

With good daughter mama stayed

Times, they were often quite good

None knew why, nor understood

 .

Talked to daughter, heart to heart

Began with a bumpy start

Talked about my feelings true

Asked her advice, what to do

 .

Mama and me now are friends

For way we acted, made amends

When Mom watches kids it’s great

Let’s spouse and me have a date

 .

Safe and secure on my own

In daughters house, now my home

Never thought I’d come to stay

But glad my kids led the way

 .

Times were often bittersweet

When mom’s will and mine did meet

I gained a lot ‘cause she came

Though helping her was my aim

 .

As time passes, life must fade

With good daughter mama stayed

Times, they were often quite good

None knew why, nor understood

Entry filed under: Poetry. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Poem: Love’s Call Poem: Jamaican Blue

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lynn Nash  |  10/25/2013 at 3:00 PM

    Very nice and relatable!

    Reply
  • 2. gigglinggranny  |  10/25/2013 at 10:35 AM

    Hi Chuck! Thanks for the feedback! But I am curious as to why you feel this change is warranted. Don’t get me wrong, I appreciate the feedback, but I am interested in the reasoning behind the it.

    Reply
  • 3. Chuck Larlham  |  10/24/2013 at 7:40 PM

    June: that’s just beautiful. I will make one technical comment. Don’t do this:

    Mama, she is slowing down
    How long will she be aroun’?

    “down” and “around” are close enough in rhyme for a poem in this style to be left as they are found. Leave the “d” on the end of “around.”

    The rest of the poem is just fine, and as a whole it’s absolutely wonderful.

    Chuck

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Copyright notice

Original poetry. Copyright 2012, June Nash

