Poem: Family Tree

09/06/2012 at 8:29 AM 1 comment

Family Tree

Researching my family tree,

Finding wondrous discovery.

One cousin hung for steeling horse.

‘Nother became a judge of course.

 –

Meeting now, cousins still alive.

This part helping to feed my drive.

Scan documents from long ago,

This takes time, making progress slow.

 –

Pour through documents, read entries

Of history spanning centuries.

Learning of my ancestral kin,

Explains the giddy mood I’m in.

 –

Plan to travel, to see the land,

Where great uncle, for gold, once panned.

Next voyage, will be with eyes new,

Seeing places from which I grew.

 June Nash

 

I have always had an interest in my family’s history, but only recently have taken the time to get actively involved. At this point, I am only gathering information that others have already dug up.  I am meeting relatives I thought long lost to me.  It is an exciting adventure.  As I was scanning documents onto my computer I wrote this poem: Family Tree.  

Entry filed under: Poetry. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Poem: True To Self Poem; The Drip Drip of A Leaky Roof

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Copyright notice

Original poetry. Copyright 2012, June Nash

