Poem about Could vs Should

08/27/2012 at 7:16 AM Leave a comment

 

Could Do

Need to sort what I must do.

Things in queue are not a few.

Some for fun and those that must.

Schedule full, think seams will bust.

 –

Pick up a bit here and there.

Write down, make list with care.

To make list of have to dos

Gives sour mood and the blues.

 –

So I write down stuff as coulds.

Makes more likely to be woulds.

Don’t like shoulds, even from me,

So suggest quite casually.

 –

I could cook, home made, great taste,

Or eat out, not good, cash waste.

To exercise class could go,

Or stay at home, let flab grow.

 –

These are choices, things I choose.

These choices show goods could lose,

If languor over comes will.

Though lounging will oft win still.

 –

So I make list nice and long

Start music, work list to song.

If got done only small part

Still ahead from where I start.

June Nash

 

I am always over loaded with things I should do.  Should is a term that implies an obligation, not a choice.  I prefer to have choices in my life. A friend of mine read somewhere that the root of the word was scold.  I could not verify that anywhere, but feel that there is a scolding quality to the word.  I listened to yet another friend who suggested that I could remove the word should from my vocabulary altogether, replace it with could.  I like that idea!  

How about you?  Do you ever use the word should?  Can it be replaced by could?

Entry filed under: Poetry. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , .

Poem: Calls Nightly Poem: Out and Do

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Copyright notice

Original poetry. Copyright 2012, June Nash

