It Doesn’t Hurt to Ask – Poem

03/25/2012 at 12:35 PM 1 comment

My granddaughter was over the house today.  She asked me to put a swing set in the yard.  I couldn’t believe it!  She didn’t ask for a doll or a book, but a swing set!  That was too much!  She is so cute, but not THAT cute!

It Doesn’t Hurt To Ask

 –

I know a girl she’s only five.

She’s all happy when I arrive.

I love this little granddaughter of mine.

 –

For a swing set she asked today.

Said no, not my yard, go away!

Oh no, I am afraid.  Will she start to whine?

 –

Then maybe a pool? She did coo,

At your house I’ve nothing to do.

Only five, yet she can talk such a line!

 –

I baked some cookies, come lets eat!

Hoping to distract.  Take a seat.

How to get out of this may take some time.

 –

You have books, dolls, balls and crayons,

Plenty things for you to play on.

She is such a sweetheart, takes it just fine.

 –

Learning early in life I guess

If you ask, if you can impress,

You might get what you want. . . . If not, , , , you tried

–                   –  June Nash


Entry filed under: Poetry. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Socially Stunted- Poem The Park – A kid’s point of view

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. agalova  |  03/25/2012 at 10:47 PM

    Can I have a pony! LOL!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Copyright notice

Original poetry. Copyright 2012, June Nash

